In July 2018, outstanding early career scholars participated in a two-week CRASSH Summer School devoted to some of the most critical issues in the emergence of the modern university and one of the most fraught problems of our historical moment: the related questions of secularism and religious diversity. The Summer School ran from 2 – 13 July and is part of the CRASSH research project Religious Diversity and the Secular University, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Four world-class senior scholars in residence led the workshop:

Sally Shuttleworth (University of Oxford)
• Susannah Heschel (Dartmouth)
Bernard Lightman (York University, Toronto)
Suzanne Marchand (Louisiana State University)

Junior scholars worked with the scholars in residence as well as with the members of the Religious Diversity and the Secular University project. They are Simon Goldhill (CRASSH Director and Project Director), Theodor Dunkelgrün (Senior Research Associate and Academic Co-Ordinator) and Sami Everett (Research Associate). Together, they read closely a set of primary sources selected by the senior scholars and engaged critically with work in progress by each participant. Participants blogged from the Summer School and the posts are available below.

Digital archive:

​• Day 1 (Afternoon I)
Day 1 (Afternoon II)
Day 2 (Morning)
Day 2 (Afternoon I)
Day 2 (Afternoon II)
Day 3 (Afternoon I)
Day 3 (Afternoon II)
Day 4 (Afternoon II)
Day 5 (Afternoon I)
Day 5 (Afternoon II)
Day 6 (Afternoon I)
Day 6 (Afternoon II)
Day 7 (Afternoon I)
Day 7 (Afternoon II)
Day 8 (Afternoon I)
Day 8 (Afternoon II)
Day 9 (Afternoon I)
Day 9 (Afternoon II)
Day 10 (Afternoon I)

Early career scholars:

Autumn Ellis (University of Cambridge)
Abraham Flipse (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
Jeremy Fogel (Tel Aviv University)
Felicity Griffiths (UCL)
Joel Hanisek (Trinity College Dublin)
Iza Hussin (University of Cambridge)
Artemis Ignatidou (Brunel University London)
Ruth Jackson (University of Cambridge)
Tala Jarjour (Yale Institute of Sacred Music)
Charles Kuper (Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities)
Paul Michael Kurtz (University of Cambridge)
Ruth Lindley (University of Birmingham)
Omer Michaelis (Harvard/Tel Aviv University)
David Moshfegh (IE University)
Pablo Munoz Iturrieta (Independent Scholar)
Bruce Pass (University of Edinburgh)
Gustavo Rodrigues Rocha (UC Berkeley/UEFS)
Tania Saeed (Lahore University of Management Sciences)
Marietta van der Tol (University of Cambridge)

We are grateful for the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. If you’d like to learn more about the Foundation and its mission, please click here.






Tel: +44 1223 766886