CRASSH works closely with the Schools of Arts and Humanities and Humanities and Social Sciences but is independent of any faculty or department. It comes under the School of Arts and Humanities for administrative purposes while continuing to work across both Schools. The Centre’s Management Committee oversees the policy and management of the Centre, meeting once a term throughout the year. For enquiries please contact Mette H Rokkum Jamasb, Centre Administrator.

Management Committee

  • Chair: Tim Lewens (Professor of Philosophy of Science and Head of Department, Department of History and Philosophy of Science)
  • Tim Harper (Chair, School of Humanities and Social Sciences)
  • Chris Young (Chair, School of Arts and Humanities)
  • Joanna Page (Professor of Latin American Studies)
  • Caroline Bassett (Professor, Director, Cambridge Digital Humanities)
  • Louise Haywood (Professor in Medieval Iberian Literary and Cultural Studies, Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics)
  • David Howarth (Professor of Law and Public Policy, Land Economy)
  • Sriya Iyer (Professor of Economics, Faculty of Economics)
  • Giles Oldroyd (Russell R Geiger Professor of Crop Science & Director of the Crop Science Centre, Department of Plant Sciences)
  • Bhaskar Vira (Professor of Political Economy, Department of Geography)
  • Carrie Vout (Professor of Classics & Director of the Museum of Classical Archaeology)


2022 – present
Joanna Page (Professor of Latin American Studies)

2018 – 2022
Steven Connor FBA (Grace 2 Professor of English)

2011 – 2018
Simon Goldhill FBA (Professor in Greek Literature and Culture)

2009 – 2010
Andrew Webber (Acting Director; Professor of Modern German and Comparative Culture)

2005 – 2010
Mary Jacobus FBA CBE (Emeritus Grace 2 Professor of English)

2003 – 2005
Ludmilla Jordanova (Professor of Modern History, Durham University)

Ian Donaldson FBA (Emeritus Grace 1 Professor of English)
John Morrill FBA (Deputy Director; Professor of British and Irish History)


Tel: +44 1223 766886