17 Oct 2008 - 19 Oct 2008 All day CRASSH, 17 Mill Lane


Registration is now closed.

Bruno De Nicola, Husain Qutbuddin, and Yoni Mendel (Asian & Middle Eastern Studies)

Executive Committee:
Prof. James Montgomery, Dr. Lori Allen, Prof. Yasir Suleiman

The purpose of the Symposium is to bring together recognised scholars and graduate students in the field to present papers, share ideas, and conduct discussions on research ranging from classical to contemporary times, and encouraged to be in – but not limited to – the areas of:


1. Language and identity.
2. Language and politics.
3. Linguistic and literary analysis.
4. Transmission of knowledge.   
5. Classification of knowledge.
6. Production and distribution of religious and secular ideas.

It is expected that the blend of well-known professors, other scholars, and graduate students will generate lively discussions and progressive perspectives and ideas, which will benefit all attendees, not least the community of Cambridge students, especially working in the faculties of Asian & Middle Eastern Studies, Divinity, Linguistics, and Politics.

We express our gratitude to the more than 150 scholars and graduate students from around the world that submitted their abstracts for the Symposium. The committee had to assume the difficult task of leaving aside very interesting papers in order to acquire equilibrium between themes, periods, languages and disciplines within the panels.

Prof. Geoffrey Khan (Cambridge University) OPEN TO ALL! NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED!

Other Speakers:
Dr. Lori Allen (University of Cambridge)
Dr. Taoufik ben Amor (Columbia University)
Prof. Nader al-Bizri (Institute of Ismaili Studies)
Prof. Fatima Badry (American University of Sharjah)
Ms. Nadia Bou Ali (University of Oxford)
Dr. Kristen Brustad (University of Texas at Austin)
Dr. Vanessa De Gifis (Wayne State University, Detroit, MI)
Ms. Marta Dominguez Diaz (SOAS, University of London)
Prof. Khachik Gevorgyan (ARYA International University Yerevan)
Mr. James Gibbon (Princeton University)
Mr. Diego Giolitti (University of Cambridge)
Prof. Robert Gordon (University of Cambridge)
Rev. Dr. David D. Grafton (The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia)
Ms. Liora Halpern (UCLA)
Dr. K. Hroub (University of Cambridge)
Dr. Zeinab Ibrahim (American University of Cairo)
Mr. Alexander Key (Harvard University)
Mr. Petr Kucera (Charles University, Prague)
Prof. Wilferd Madelung (University of Oxford)
Mrs. Elisheva Machlis (University of Cambridge)
Dr. Alison Mandaville (University of Washington)
Prof. James Montgomery (University of Cambridge)
Dr. Elke Morlok (University of Heidelberg, Germany)
Prof. Angelika Neuwirth (Freie University, Germany)
Ms. Sara Omar (University of Harvard)
Mr. Luke Peterson (University of Cambridge)
Mr. Aziz Qutbuddin (SOAS, University of London)
Mr. Husain Qutbuddin (University of Cambridge)
Dr. Christine van Ruymbeke (University of Cambridge)
Ms. Nuha al-Sha'ar (University of Cambridge)
Prof. Yasir Suleiman (University of Cambridge)
Ms. Nesrin Ucarlar (Yeditepe University, Turkey)
Dr Allon Uhlmann (Missouri Univ, St. Louis)
Ms. Nadezda Vidro (University of Cambridge)
Prof. Ali Hassan Zaidi (Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada)



Sponsored by the Department of Middle Eastern Studies



For administrative enquiries contact apm50@cam.ac.uk


Tel: +44 1223 766886
Email enquiries@crassh.cam.ac.uk