Gareth Evans has been Chancellor of the Australian National University since January 2010. He was a Cabinet Minister in the Hawke and Keating Australian Labor Governments for thirteen years, as Attorney General (1983-4), Minister for Resources and Energy (1984-7), Minister for Transport and Communications (1987-8) and Foreign Minister (1988-96). After leaving politics, he was President of the Brussels-based International Crisis Group, the independent global conflict prevention and resolution organization, from 2000 to 2009. He has written or edited ten books – including Cooperating for Peace (Allen & Unwin, 1993), Australia’s Foreign Relations (Melbourne University Press, 1995), and The Responsibility to Protect: Ending Mass Atrocity Crimes Once and for All (Brookings Institution Press, 2008) – and published over 100 journal articles and chapters on foreign relations, human rights and legal and constitutional reform, and many more newspaper and magazine articles. He has co-chaired two major International Commissions, on Intervention and State Sovereignty (2000-01), and Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament (2008-10), and been a member of several others. In 2010 he was awarded the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute Award for Freedom from Fear, for his pioneering work on the Responsibility to Protect concept and his contributions to conflict prevention and resolution, arms control and disarmament. In December 2011 Foreign Policy magazine cited him as one of the Top 100 Global Thinkers for 2011. In 2012 he was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences of Australia (FASSA), and made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for “eminent service to international relations, particularly in the Asia-Pacific region, and as an adviser to governments on global policy matters”.  He has honorary doctorates from Melbourne, Sydney, Carleton and Queens Universities; is an Honorary Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford, where he read PPE 1968-70; after graduating in Law from Melbourne University; and is an Honorary Professorial Fellow of the ANU.


Tel: +44 1223 766886
Email enquiries@crassh.cam.ac.uk